Jones Public Library

Jones Public Library is here largely because of the Dayton Chapter of the Lambda Alpha Sigma Club.  They held many fund raisers and organized the need for a public library in this city.  Originally called Dayton Public Library, a one room facility was opened June 14, 1962 in the Civic Center located off of W. Houston Street.  At this time, all books were donated and the library operated by volunteers a few hours on Tuesday and Saturday.  Come May 1967, the library extended its days of operation to a few hours five days a week.

Around the year 1985, after more organizing and fundraising, the library had a new building built on the corner of W. Houston Street and S. Cleveland Street.  After a large contribution to the project, the name of the library was changed to Edmund E. and Nida Smith Jones Library, later shortened to Jones Public Library.

In 2010, the new Dayton Community Center/Jones Library building was built.

  1. Library

    Physical Address
    801 S. Cleveland Street
    Dayton, TX 77535

    Mailing Address

    Dayton, TX 77535

    Phone: 936-258-7060

  2. Sherry Sikes

    Sherry Sikes

    Library Director

Library Hours of Operation

  • Monday through Thursday 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
  • Friday and Saturday 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Story Time

Wednesdays at 10 a.m. for 3-5 year olds

More Information
Visit the Jones Public Library current website to learn more.